The Act lays down GHG emission thresholds for six sectors not covered under the EU ETS for the period 2008-2012 and the period 2013-2020 – waste, energy and industry not covered under the EU ETS, fluorinated gas, buildings, agriculture, and transportation. Article 4 creates a National Climate Protection Committee, comprised of representatives of the Länder, federal ministries involved in climate change (Environment, Finance, Economic, Transport, Health, and Justice) and representatives from trade unions, industry, and agricultural associations.